Cabled Blanket = Perseverance

IMG_3247I don’t know about most knitters but I really like making blankets. There is something nostalgic about receiving a blanket from someone because each time you use it you think of the love from the one who made it. I still have a baby blanket my Great Grandma Plummer made for my daughter and it will most likely be in our family for ever.

On the other hand, I also like instant gratification. So when it comes to blankets it’s a double edged sword. The first blanket I ever made took me 6 months and it was a huge undertaking. I chose to do it because I needed a reason to keep knitting when I was first staring out. The person I gave it to was very kind because they didn’t mind all the mistakes. (I’m not sure if they still have it or not)

Thankfully, since then I’ve made many blankets in many sizes: large, small and also for babies. If I had to pick a favorite it would be the Classic Cabled Throw. It was a free pattern from Red Heart. I loved the look of it and was very comfortable with knitting cables.

The cables that made it so beautiful were also what made it soooooo long to finish. Granted, it didn’t take 6 months but I worked on it day and night so that it wouldn’t. I brought it with me where ever I went and chuckled at how long it was taking me. After a while I got sick of the blanket even though it was starting to look so beautiful.

I think the only reason I kept on persevering with it was the fact it was for a dear friend of mine and I wanted it to be a surprise. I find that if I’m knitting for some one specific and set a deadline the project tends to finish its self.

Persevere to the end my friend.

Leave a Reply

