Conquering Socks

The thought of knitting socks always made my head very dizzy every time I tried to read the patterns. Instep? Turning the heel? I knew how to read regular knitting patterns but, sock patterns looked like a foreign language every time I tried to decipher them. The other thing that made me apprehensive was the gauge and size the socks would be when I finished.

One day at the library I found an excellent gem that helped me meet my goal to finally knit my own pair of socks – Sensational Knitted Socks. I am alwasy checking out knitting books from the library. Helps me save some cash. However, I quickly realized that I was going to need this book as a permanent reference.

download

I didn’t start my first sock until I had purchased the book because I didn’t know how long it was going to take to finish two socks. I chose the Four-Stitch style called the Garter Rib. The author, Charlene Schurch, had so many helpful hints in the book that made the project fun and easy.

However, the book has more than hints and patterns. It has instructions for you to be able to knit any pattern for any yarn and any size foot. I’ve only knit one pair of socks so far. I get bored easily and tend to loose steam when I have to repeat a pattern.

I have taken the first big step on my way to getting my next pair of socks started & finished. I promise to post when I’ve got them done. At least I know I won’t have to search high & low for a pattern.

IMG_3393

Leave a Reply

