One Book – Many Sweaters

I don’t know if I’ve already shared this but when I knit I like to see progress – I’m an instant gratification kind of knitter. When I made my first baby sweater I loved it because it finished up quick and looked nice! I chose the Garter Stitch Jacket & Bootees from Debbie Bliss Quick Baby Knits. The kimono style jacket was knit in one piece and all I had to do was sew up the arms and sides. So nice & straight forward to only have to knit on one long circular needle.  If I had a picture of this I would have inserted it HERE.

Since then I’ve made more from the Debbie Bliss book. The pictures are so wonderful and the kids in them are great models.

IMG_3364

 

This was my first ever attempt at fire isle (hat pattern wasn’t in the book) and it was so fun. Actually, each of the sweaters I knitted from this book were very fun. The only thing that was not fun was sewing up the pieces each time. No matter how well I blocked the pieces they always rolled too much as I attempted to finish. Then, no matter how well I finished it – I always thought they never looked professional enough.

All the patterns in the book are classic heirloom styles even though it was printed in 1999. I have made only 5 out of 20 of the styles but each time my knitting improves. Sewing the pieces together, however, has much to be desired.

100_3555

 

100_3556

 

These are the only pictures I have of one of the other sweaters I made – the Triangle-Edged Cardigan & Bootees. I know the pictures aren’t the greatest but keep in mind this was from 2008. The sweater was so girly and cute with challenging instructions that I had not used before.

That’s what is so great about knitting baby sized stuff. You can try complicated pieces and they don’t take for ever to finish. In my next post I’ll share about a new technique that this book didn’t have in it – knitting in the round! What fun.

Leave a Reply

