Simple Circular

I enjoyed the quick circular knitting of the little baby dress in my last post so much that I thought I would try my hand at a circular sweater. To avoid getting discouraged for my first attempt I used a child size pattern. Child size is perfect for trying something new. However, I actually didn’t know I was going to knit a sweater until I saw the yarn.

2105

 Berroco Vintage DK

The color looked so classic & cozy and the yarn fiber was perfect for wash & wear. I couldn’t wait to make something with it. Since I bought the yarn before I had a pattern (which is kind of dangerous) I had to purchase enough of it. My estimation ended up working out because when I was finished with the sweater I only had 1/2 skein left.

I found a pattern that looked complicated but simple from a very nice blogger Whistling Girl Knits.  I love her pattern design style & my guess is because she’s a Pacific Northwest girl like me. Her free pattern of Leif’s Twisted Tree Pullover was so cute and perfect for the little boy I was making it for.

IMG_3387

The main body for the sweater was very simple to understand and knitted up very quick. The twists looked complicated but were easy to do and it helped that I had previous cable experience. The twists going down the side was elegant but not stuffy and bulky like some cabled sweaters can look. Once I had the main body done, the sleeves were next and they too were quick and easy.

Since this was my first circular knit sweater I had a hard time picturing in my head how to attach the sleeves to the main body. I went to YouTube and searched for a simple instructional video on attaching sleeves in circular knitting. I had to at least see it being done since I am a visual learner. Once I did that I was able to get the sleeves on!

IMG_3407

I quickly became frustrated because I didn’t realize how tight the needle would be at this point in the pattern. I wish there was a circular needle that had tiny ends making it easier to knit around the sleeves. After I was able to slowly get this done the yoke was next and it finally started to look like a sweater.

IMG_3423

I got a little too excited that I was almost finished and accidentally made the neck way too small. Before I gave it to the little boy it was for I ripped out and re-did the neck.

IMG_3433

When I blocked the sweater I could see that I had made a few mistakes in my knitting, but they were only noticeable to me (and anyone I pointed them out to).

IMG_3440

Over all I think the sweater turned out very nice and that’s because of the very forgiving design by the designer. You should check out her blog – all her patterns are lovely. I follow her on Instagram and we are neighbors now on Ravelry. It’s amazing what you find in the knitting community.

Leave a Reply

