It’s My Circus, It’s My Monkey Now

As of this week I am ‘officially’ the head of the yarn department in the craft store I work at part time. Ben Franklin craft stores are all unique no matter where you go. Some are like dollar stores while others are so high end that their bead department sells actaual gem stone strands. 

So, what do I do now that I am in charge of taking care of a yarn department? First of all, I really need to stay part time, so I’m going to have to manage my time very wisely and be as effecient as I can with the hours that I am there. I won’t just be looking at soft and pretty yarn all day. I’ll still have to help cover other departments and take my rotation at customer service. 

Today as I came in I felt overwhelmed with not knowing where to start. I do have tons of ideas for improvements and samples but I had to know what I really needed to do first. Thankfully, all the ladies in the fabric section have had to help in the yarn section so they have been a wealth of info. So, I started with the most important thing: communicating with customers about special orders they were inquiring about. Unfortunately, for those called today we couldn’t get the items they were looking for. 

We carry mostly craft yarn like Red Heart, Pattons and Lion Brand. There is nothing wrong with those brands at all. Each of these companies have great lines and are familiar to most people, not to mention they have great price points.

What I’m most excited about is the fact that we carry Cascade Yarn. This is such a bonus for us because we do have customers that come in specifically for Alpaca, Superwash or sock yarn who want something more luxurious in their fingers. 

The only downside right now is that the yarn department has been kind of stagnant mostly because the person in charge of fabrics has also had to be in charge of yarns. That changes now that they split them and have me overseeing only the yarns. I know I might be there many hours, but I hope to make the yarn department POP! 


I will keep you up to date on my progress and if you’re ever in Bonney Lake, Washington you’ll have to check for yourself!

4 thoughts on “It’s My Circus, It’s My Monkey Now

Leave a Reply

