Magic Mowich Cowl

Mountains and yarns are two main things that get me through my day. I’m blessed to have a view of Mount Rainier (when it’s not raining here) and I always have some yarn in my hand at least once a day.

A few months ago I had a chance to visit The Weaving Works in Seattle before it closed its storefront and found Malabrigo Worsted in Lime Blue. Malabrigo is one of the yarns I am always drawn to when ever I go on  trips to yarn shops. Their Worsted is a nice and squishy single ply with a smooth nap. I purchased two skeins of the Lime Blue with no pattern in mind but I knew I was going to make something for one of my coworkers who happens to be a Seattle Seahawks season ticket holder. The colors of the yarn were going to be perfect for a fan accessory for chilly rainy days at Century Link Field.

IMG_0712.JPG

Although I didn’t have a pattern already picked out, I knew the soft, luxurious yarn would be perfect for a cowl. I wanted something simple but also a pattern that would show off the color way. The honey comb cable was the perfect match and no other stitch was needed. I’m not normally a huge fan of provisional cast-ons but this would be a necessity if I wanted this cowl to work properly. So, to make up for my lack of joy with that cast-on I use the crochet version for the provisional and saved myself a headache.

I think my choice of pattern design worked together quite well and I was overall pleased. I gave the gift to my coworker and she fell in love right away. After I edited the written pattern I knew there would be other knitters out there that had to try it out. I’ve had it up on Ravelry for a while and it’s been favored a few times.

I chose to name it Mowich because of how deep the honey combs appear to look. Mowich is the deepest lake inside the Mount Rainer National Park. It’s also very close to the side of the mount where I live. When I have time in my schedule to visit the nearby park this is where I try to go. I might not always make it to the lake but it’s always in my heart.

The link to the pattern to purchase is here: Mowich Cowl

Make sure to tag me on Instagram if you make your own version! I’d love to see your work.


Leave a comment